lunedì 10 settembre 2007
the end of the world
I was just given a link to a damn funny site http://members.cox.net/impunity/endofworld.swf enjoyin other news, I have a test friday so I'm gonna go study for that now...after I watch that 70's show....and eat pizza....and talk to people on IM...DAMNITpeace out yo
giovedì 6 settembre 2007
the funniest thing I've heard in a long time
if you have a sec jump over and read kungfoo 's blog for saturday 1:45am - my favorite part was"The girl that streaked naked through the huge chapel with a bag on her head. This happened immediately after they annouced the king and queen, and these other two announcer guys were super shocked and just said, "oh my God, did that just happen?" Man, we were shocked too, but sooo amused. That place was filled with super conservative old people! It was sorta surreal -- I'd never seen a streaker run through the chapel before. I had heard about a few guys doing it in the past, but never any female streakers. She couldn't have picked a more perfect night with that place packed out with 1,500 people. Everything is so scripted, rehearsed, dressed up, covered with a fine layer of Christian Cheese, and then-- naked bouncing boobs :P"for those that dont know, thats my old school too - a quiet very conservative school that wont let you dance because, God forbid it should lead to sex. I too was a member of the Jazz Band which participated yearly in this variety show for the schools homecoming. The fact that a chick streaked naked is hilarious in itself for the above reason (nudity leads to sex oh my), the fact that all of the deans, the pres, the board of trustees, and most importantly my parents were in attendance. Yeah thats my mom that's mentioned in his post... hahahahaah, I'm still laughingSo I'm still doing very good in school - hooray school - yeah, I still study too much I guess.Oh, i'm in a new lab now too - Dean Dawson - lots of fun so far. Dont get me wrong, Moore's lab was ok, but I already know I would rather go to the Dawson lab. Apparently I like working with yeast, and as Dean would put it, it's the most powerful genetic tool.Ah, I almost forgot - last night, well friday night, was the '3rd annual turkey fry' - I'll just say that it was a blast, thanks for the invite Alex herbert42
giovedì 30 agosto 2007
good times
Yesterday was the Sackler Alumni Reunion, and they wanted current students to participate, so we did. It was actually really fun for a few reasons. Aside from the panel where different alumni spoke about the professions they went into, and watching some of them get pissed at eachother for having varied opinions, we got to go to dinner at the JFK library and museum. At this dinner we had 'fancy' food which I didn't eat much of becuase it was, well, fancy, and contained wierd ingredients and other gross things like mushrooms (eww) that I didnt feel like eating. But they had an AMAZING desert tray, so I filled up on the chocolate, oh yeah.Along with the 'food' there was an open bar. Open...Bar... mwa haha. Now while this is enjoyable to me for obvious reasons (even though I dont really like alcohol, the fact that its free is enough to get wasted) and it was fun for others - such as watching my professors get drunk off their asses. This was very funny. At about 10:00 when the dinner was winding down, the profs still around were very drunk and were either dancing to 'get this party started' by pink or attempting to converse with the students (i.e. me) which was damn funny as well.After this enjoyable glimpse of drunken professors a few of us went out to a club downtown. That was fun - apparently I can cut a pretty good rug, esp when the place is 'bumpin'. And the $7 shots were expensive, but good. I was a little annoyed when one of my friends boyfriend was being a skanky bastard and moping around, acting like an ass by refusing to get off the couch and at least stand with us in our groove circle. Instead she had to leave after only being there for about 30 minutes. I must say I was annoyed that he ruined her fun - she was so excited to get to go and meet him there. In fact I dont see how their relationship works, they are always arguing about something or other, they never want to do what the other does etc etc. The only thing they have going for them is that they have been dating (off an on at least) for 7 years. She really loves him though, you can tell, I'm just really confused by it. Whatever - I still had fun, and I think the other people with us had fun too - I'll have to talk to her about it when I see her either tomorrow or monday.
holy shit!!
holy shit holy shit holy shit holy shit holy shit holy shit holy shit holy shit holy shit holy shit holy shit holy shit holy shit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!ok I was talking to my first year advisor yesterday about labs and such and at the end of the conversation he said 'oh, and another thing'He then proceeded to tell me that he spoke with my Biochem Prof and he had said that I did very well on the first test. So well in fact that he wanted me to TUTOR other students in the class!!! omfg! that means I probably got the highest score in the class! (higher than 3rd year med students and people that have masters in biochem). I wont even know the score until tomorrow morning, but its gonna be fun :-).In other news, I made another purchase for my music pleasure, some Sony MDR-V700 headphones. I was looking at the bose noise cancelling, but I couldn't rationalize 300 bucks for headphones, so I only spent $130.I also downloaded iTunes for windows the second it came out - boy do I love it. Now I can easily browse co-workers (who all own mac's) music selection and get lots of fun new music! oh - and I introduced them to BT - aren't they in for a treat :-)Uhm - oh yeah, one of the other first years baked me an apple pie - mmm mmm mmm- in fact, I'm gonna go have some now and watch me some nip/tuck (if it's on unlike Joe Schmoe which got bumped for some gay ass GQ men of the year crap that no one wants to watch)
venerdì 17 agosto 2007
the birth of 'Q'
Wow, haven't done this in a while, guess I was too busy/lazy - not a good combination. Anyway...I took my first biochem exam last friday, and lets just say I kicked its ass, hard, it felt grrRRRREAT! hehe who doesnt like to do really well on an exam, especially when the Prof. tells you that the average grade will be 50% and not to panic when you first see it. Anyway - muchos adrenaline after that bad boy. Continuing with that - today I was ignored by my genetics professor because I was answering too many questions and he wanted others to answer :-p not too shabby either.In other news - my dad bought a new car friday, a yellow Kompressor convertable....hmm...well thats gonna be hella fun when I go home. He sent a picture of him in it and I showed it to everyone at work, they got a kick out of it I think - I couldn't stop laughing, I don't really know why...In other other news - I made another purchase today. http://www.evolution.co.uk/moreinfo/hardware/pro49c.htm I've been in the 'writing music' mood recently, (inspired by BT mainly), and I think its gonna be a blast. Check back for the next #1 single by 'Q' (if you can think of a better handle for a person who has no experience writing music, feel free to let me know)
domenica 12 agosto 2007
School
Well here I go again - year 17 of school - will this never end? hehe. I'm very excited though - I would get extremely bored without this environment as proved this summer. Now that school has started again I am making friends and having fun - unfortunately I messed up at lab (sort of) so I didnt have any work to do really today, but I'll make up for it tomorrow. Yeah School!
martedì 7 agosto 2007
wtf?!?
Now another person - or the same, who knows - is trying the SAME SCAM on me - writing me telling about a client in Africa... Hey, does anyone out there wanna buy a nice truck?grrrrr
martedì 31 luglio 2007
son of a -
everyone gets f*cked:now you may wonder why I start my message on such a sour note, and just so you aren't too shaken up, realize that I am doing this so that as my message continues things can only get better... and on that note!!I am trying to sell my truck - and have been for quite some time - with absolutely no success. I realize I can be trying harder but holy crap its expensive to advertise, so I am only using one medium at a time in order to cut costs. Most recently I payed $45 (?!?!? why you cheating bastards) to POST ON AN INTERNET SITE called autotrader. I figured, hey this is a respectable site, its HALF the price of posting in a newspaper here, and it lasts twice as long, and I need to sell my frigging truck. So I post it, and low and behold 2 days later I get an interested buyer! I go through the motions and realize that this dude is trying to f*ck me. He states that he is buying the truck for someone else who lives in AFRICA and that he is going to send me a cashiers check for 7,700, I subtract what is owed me, 2,500, and then wire the rest back to him (the guy here) and he will send people to pick up the truck and use the money to ship it. Now wait just a friggin minute, why the hell is this guy giving me 5,200 extra??? So I figure something fishy is going on - so before I give away too much information I email my Mom (this was at 1am so I couldn't really call) and call my Dad (this was the next day) and get their opinions. I talk to my Dad before my Mom emails back and he states that as long as they are giving me the extra money things couldn't be better, heck they must really trust me to do that. You must understand that my Dad REALLY wants to sell this truck because for some reason they wont let me pay for the insurance, so they still are, and the insurance company is getting pissed because he's insuring it in california, its registered in Arizona, and I'm driving it in Massachussetts hehe. So I respond to the guy - ok, here's my name, address, phone. Then I get an email from my Mom saying DONT DO IT - BREAK OFF ALL TIES WITH THIS GUY. So then I think, yeah she's right, so I go as far as to call the police and get there opinion. I end up talking to 3 detectives all of whom say - yeah this is a scam. Turns out the way this scam works (roomate read it in a magazine apparently) is that they get your trust by offering you OVER the amount of the vehicle, and then they ask you for money to get the transaction started or something, at which point the break off all ties and ram you up the ass...or something like that. So I emailed the guy back and told him I already sold it to someone I knew who payed cash etc. etc. and he hasn't responded so thats good. No, I'm not mad at my Dad, though he was very shaken and upset that he gave me bad advice, I knew he was sorry and that he was thinking only of getting rid of the blasted truck. So I still have my truck (grr) and some a-hole was trying to rip me off, bastards!!!Well this has just ruined my entire outlook on humanity - except....(you may be wondering where the afore-promised feel good stuff is, well here it is)when I called the cambridge police - aside from telling me that only a fool would believe this guy - they were all very nice in taking the time out of their day to help me when nothing had really been done yet. Also my roomate helped me out by moving my truck a few blocks away while I had the fear that now that this guy had my address and the specifications of the truck he could come and steal it, if thats what he was looking to do. So thanks to the kindness of a few people my day wasn't AS bad...I guess... I did spend the entire weekend moping around in a pissed off mood though, that kinda sucked, but I'm better now.School starts next week! Finally I get to make some friends and dont have to sit home alone all weekend...oh - have a lab meeting - guess I gotta gopeace
son of a -
everyone gets f*cked:now you may wonder why I start my message on such a sour note, and just so you aren't too shaken up, realize that I am doing this so that as my message continues things can only get better... and on that note!!I am trying to sell my truck - and have been for quite some time - with absolutely no success. I realize I can be trying harder but holy crap its expensive to advertise, so I am only using one medium at a time in order to cut costs. Most recently I payed $45 (?!?!? why you cheating bastards) to POST ON AN INTERNET SITE called autotrader. I figured, hey this is a respectable site, its HALF the price of posting in a newspaper here, and it lasts twice as long, and I need to sell my frigging truck. So I post it, and low and behold 2 days later I get an interested buyer! I go through the motions and realize that this dude is trying to f*ck me. He states that he is buying the truck for someone else who lives in AFRICA and that he is going to send me a cashiers check for 7,700, I subtract what is owed me, 2,500, and then wire the rest back to him (the guy here) and he will send people to pick up the truck and use the money to ship it. Now wait just a friggin minute, why the hell is this guy giving me 5,200 extra??? So I figure something fishy is going on - so before I give away too much information I email my Mom (this was at 1am so I couldn't really call) and call my Dad (this was the next day) and get their opinions. I talk to my Dad before my Mom emails back and he states that as long as they are giving me the extra money things couldn't be better, heck they must really trust me to do that. You must understand that my Dad REALLY wants to sell this truck because for some reason they wont let me pay for the insurance, so they still are, and the insurance company is getting pissed because he's insuring it in california, its registered in Arizona, and I'm driving it in Massachussetts hehe. So I respond to the guy - ok, here's my name, address, phone. Then I get an email from my Mom saying DONT DO IT - BREAK OFF ALL TIES WITH THIS GUY. So then I think, yeah she's right, so I go as far as to call the police and get there opinion. I end up talking to 3 detectives all of whom say - yeah this is a scam. Turns out the way this scam works (roomate read it in a magazine apparently) is that they get your trust by offering you OVER the amount of the vehicle, and then they ask you for money to get the transaction started or something, at which point the break off all ties and ram you up the ass...or something like that. So I emailed the guy back and told him I already sold it to someone I knew who payed cash etc. etc. and he hasn't responded so thats good. No, I'm not mad at my Dad, though he was very shaken and upset that he gave me bad advice, I knew he was sorry and that he was thinking only of getting rid of the blasted truck. So I still have my truck (grr) and some a-hole was trying to rip me off, bastards!!!Well this has just ruined my entire outlook on humanity - except....(you may be wondering where the afore-promised feel good stuff is, well here it is)when I called the cambridge police - aside from telling me that only a fool would believe this guy - they were all very nice in taking the time out of their day to help me when nothing had really been done yet. Also my roomate helped me out by moving my truck a few blocks away while I had the fear that now that this guy had my address and the specifications of the truck he could come and steal it, if thats what he was looking to do. So thanks to the kindness of a few people my day wasn't AS bad...I guess... I did spend the entire weekend moping around in a pissed off mood though, that kinda sucked, but I'm better now.School starts next week! Finally I get to make some friends and dont have to sit home alone all weekend...oh - have a lab meeting - guess I gotta gopeace
mercoledì 18 luglio 2007
FUNNIES EVER
HAHAHA - ok I just watched the Family Guy episode that is a spoof on Charlie and the Chocolate Factory but its a beer factory - freaking hilarious - you should try to find it.peace
giovedì 21 giugno 2007
far far away
I just dropped my sister off at the airport - she arrived last wednesday and I took all of these days off work to hang out with her and see boston. I didn't think that I was that far away from my family and friends before, knowing that I could just jump on a plane and get there eventually, but now I think about it and realize thay they are far far away. I can't just drive over to there place and hang out, can't just go to dinner with my family on a whim, I have to plan out a trip and spend a lot of time and money, which I am more than willing to do, it just isn't as convientient. Basically I just realized how far away they are and how loney it is waaay over here in boston and I'm kinda sad about that.
martedì 19 giugno 2007
Star Wars Galaxies
against better judgement - perhaps - I purchased Star Wars Galaxies. After a shaky first day I put in ~5 hours my second day. Now this was partly due to the fact that I got home from work early, running out of things to do, but 5 hours says something. A) its entertaining to say the least, and B) will this be another EQ for me? I hope not, and I dont think it will be for I forsee getting bored with my current operations real fast in the game. So unless something new and exciting happens I'll probably cut back and wont waste all of my time on swg, like I did with EQ. Hmm, maybe the fact that I stayed up till midnight just to make 1k more credits is saying something....hmmm....well, wish me luck that I can control this - and yell at me if this goes out of control - I may need it.
domenica 17 giugno 2007
foooood
Hahahahaha I just ordered a large pep. pizza (free delivery!) for myself - how lazy am I... I blame it on being sick and still working 9 hours today.
'sup
Got up early this morning to go to the doctors office - had to get a physical (cough) and a hepB vaccination, and a TB test (phew). I got to work only 30 minutes late, surprisingly, since I went to the doctors so early, but I still felt like crap. So, after 4 hours of hard work, I came home. Now I get to watch star trek and get some sleep - woo hoo. The doctor said I had a viral infection and I can't do anything except sleep and drink a lot of water.My boss came back today from her month vacation which means two things: I will probably have a better idea of what I am supposed to be doing at work, and that I have to have talk with her tomorrow about all of the stuff I've done so far. Shouldn't be too bad, but I feel really slow in there because everyone else knows exactly what they are doing next instantly, and it takes me a few seconds to figure it out, or I dont even know because I dont have any experience. I dont plan on getting scolded or anything, I just wish I was more capable. I also realize that this is the whole reason I am working in the lab right now, to learn all of this stuff, but I hate feeling behind. I wish I could have a book or something to just read it all and learn it all but oh well.
(no subject)
So all of my roomates are gone for at least a week. I think I'm gonna be bored, but we'll see. I'm starting to feel a bit better - dont have all of the aches and general feeling like crap that I had yesterday, but I still have a wicked sore throat (hehe, wicked). I'm also coughing up some really nasty gunk, its fun.I have a problem looming in my near future. I am trying to sell my truck for about 3 weeks now, got ads in newspapers and online, posted flyers up all over MIT, yet not one person has called me intersted in it. I wouldn't mind too much, except that my truck is registered in Az still, and it expires at the end of July, which means that if I dont sell it say by wednesday, I have to register it in Ma which requires me to get insurance in Ma. So, I'm going to have to spend a ton of cash just to sell my truck, woo hoo. The problem is I have problems motivating myself to do things like this - I guess I am trying to hide from as much responsibility as I can - and in this circumstance that could lead to a lot more work, and possibly money.Also, Laura, my ex-girlfriend whom I have attempted to cut off because of wierd past experiences called me yesterday. Luckily I didn't hear the phone ring and she just left a message, but she wanted me to help her fix her computer or something. Two things, one, I changed my phone number and she would only know it from calling other people and asking them, which is wrong. Two. she is on the other side of the country, and I know she knows tons of people closer to her than me. I dont know, I just thought I would be done with that, but I guess my hopes were too high. sigh*
lunedì 11 giugno 2007
sicker than a .....
so I went to bed at 6pm last night so that I could get over this - I toss and rurn all night long, and then I wake up feeling even worse. How much does that suck. Apparently someone else I know had the same thing last week and they said it would last 3 days and go away. 3's too much, but any longer and I will be pissed. So, I still feel like shiese and hope this goes away soon.
martedì 8 maggio 2007
sick
so - here it is, the big day of the Sackler School Relays (my graduate school). I've signed up to participate in the bike race and the volleyball games, I thought it would be fun. The problem is, I awoke at 6am (after going to bed past 1am) because my throat hurt so friggin much. I think I have strep throat - woo hoo! Called the doctor even, but they say I can only go in on saturdays if its an emergency, not for a sore throat - grrr - and I can't make it in today cause its too far away. How much does that suck!? So, hopefully I'll feel better before my race at 1pm...but I probably won't. At least I have an easy morning at work.
Iscriviti a:
Commenti (Atom)