martedì 31 luglio 2007

son of a -


everyone gets f*cked:now you may wonder why I start my message on such a sour note, and just so you aren't too shaken up, realize that I am doing this so that as my message continues things can only get better... and on that note!!I am trying to sell my truck - and have been for quite some time - with absolutely no success. I realize I can be trying harder but holy crap its expensive to advertise, so I am only using one medium at a time in order to cut costs. Most recently I payed $45 (?!?!? why you cheating bastards) to POST ON AN INTERNET SITE called autotrader. I figured, hey this is a respectable site, its HALF the price of posting in a newspaper here, and it lasts twice as long, and I need to sell my frigging truck. So I post it, and low and behold 2 days later I get an interested buyer! I go through the motions and realize that this dude is trying to f*ck me. He states that he is buying the truck for someone else who lives in AFRICA and that he is going to send me a cashiers check for 7,700, I subtract what is owed me, 2,500, and then wire the rest back to him (the guy here) and he will send people to pick up the truck and use the money to ship it. Now wait just a friggin minute, why the hell is this guy giving me 5,200 extra??? So I figure something fishy is going on - so before I give away too much information I email my Mom (this was at 1am so I couldn't really call) and call my Dad (this was the next day) and get their opinions. I talk to my Dad before my Mom emails back and he states that as long as they are giving me the extra money things couldn't be better, heck they must really trust me to do that. You must understand that my Dad REALLY wants to sell this truck because for some reason they wont let me pay for the insurance, so they still are, and the insurance company is getting pissed because he's insuring it in california, its registered in Arizona, and I'm driving it in Massachussetts hehe. So I respond to the guy - ok, here's my name, address, phone. Then I get an email from my Mom saying DONT DO IT - BREAK OFF ALL TIES WITH THIS GUY. So then I think, yeah she's right, so I go as far as to call the police and get there opinion. I end up talking to 3 detectives all of whom say - yeah this is a scam. Turns out the way this scam works (roomate read it in a magazine apparently) is that they get your trust by offering you OVER the amount of the vehicle, and then they ask you for money to get the transaction started or something, at which point the break off all ties and ram you up the ass...or something like that. So I emailed the guy back and told him I already sold it to someone I knew who payed cash etc. etc. and he hasn't responded so thats good. No, I'm not mad at my Dad, though he was very shaken and upset that he gave me bad advice, I knew he was sorry and that he was thinking only of getting rid of the blasted truck. So I still have my truck (grr) and some a-hole was trying to rip me off, bastards!!!Well this has just ruined my entire outlook on humanity - except....(you may be wondering where the afore-promised feel good stuff is, well here it is)when I called the cambridge police - aside from telling me that only a fool would believe this guy - they were all very nice in taking the time out of their day to help me when nothing had really been done yet. Also my roomate helped me out by moving my truck a few blocks away while I had the fear that now that this guy had my address and the specifications of the truck he could come and steal it, if thats what he was looking to do. So thanks to the kindness of a few people my day wasn't AS bad...I guess... I did spend the entire weekend moping around in a pissed off mood though, that kinda sucked, but I'm better now.School starts next week! Finally I get to make some friends and dont have to sit home alone all weekend...oh - have a lab meeting - guess I gotta gopeace

2 commenti:

foxislav ha detto...

don't be afraid to use the F- word. This site won't censor you :PThat sucks about the truck experience, btw :(

zoomkedho95yahoocom ha detto...

yeah I know I can use it - I just felt that the censored form had more power. I dunno why.... heheh - it's like it is too powerful to ACTUALLY right, even more so than caps hehe.